Opens in a new tab Skip to content
ExpertSure UK
Current topic Accounting Services
Get Free Quotes
Compare Accounting Services Quotes in 60 Seconds
  • Tell us what you need — it takes under a minute
  • Our system matches you with trusted suppliers
  • 100% free, no pushy sales calls
  • Receive quotes from top providers within 1 hour

You'll be matched with providers like:

Illustration of a glowing light bulb

Best Online Accountants UK 2026

Clara Wenslow

Written By:

Clara Wenslow

Finance & Business Services Editor

Sarah Mitchell, ExpertSure author

Reviewed By:

Sarah Mitchell

B2B Commerce & Finance Reviewer

6 providers compared
1 fact check verified
Prices verified Sep 2026
ExpertSure is reader-supported. When you click through links on our site, we may earn a commission from the providers featured. This never influences our editorial recommendations. How we work

Table of Contents

Online accountants now handle year-end accounts, tax returns and VAT filing for most UK sole traders and small companies, with pricing published rather than hidden behind a sales call. Six firms give a clear comparison: Crunch, More Than Accountants, The Accountancy Partnership, Mazuma, Cheaper Accountant and Taxez. Between them, published monthly packages with an accountant run from £24.50 to £185 plus VAT, and annual fixed fees for a trading company’s accounts span £150 to £599, priced by turnover rather than by hours worked.

This guide verifies what each firm charges against their own live pricing pages, then answers the question that decides whether an online accountant is even the right fit: how they compare with a local, in-person firm. For a fuller breakdown of accountant costs by business structure and turnover band, see our accountant costs guide; this page focuses on choosing between the online firms themselves.

£24.50+VAT/month
Cheapest published package with an accountant
The Accountancy Partnership, sole trader; Crunch Plus at £10+VAT is software only
£185+VAT/month
Highest published entry price
Crunch Premier, a bespoke plan agreed with an adviser
£150 to £599
Fixed annual fee, company accounts
Trading companies, banded by turnover across Cheaper Accountant and Taxez; dormant from £49
£90,000
VAT registration threshold
Taxable turnover in the last 12 months, per GOV.UK

FREE QUOTE COMPARISON

Compare Accounting Services Quotes from Trusted Suppliers

100% free • No obligation • Takes under 2 minutes

Key takeaway
  • Published accountant packages span £24.50 to £185 a month plus VAT - The Accountancy Partnership’s sole trader rate at the bottom, Crunch Premier at the top; Crunch Plus at £10 is software only.
  • Fixed annual company accounts run £150 to £599 for a trading company - Cheaper Accountant and Taxez band the fee by turnover, with dormant companies from £49.
  • A limited company costs £15 to £30 a month more than a sole trader - The Accountancy Partnership charges £39.50 against £24.50 up to £20,000 turnover, and £54.50 against £29.50 from £20,001 to £90,000.
  • VAT returns and payroll are almost always separate charges - budget £29 to £30 per VAT return and around £5 per payslip on top of any headline fee.
  • The £90,000 VAT threshold is the line that changes your accountant’s workload - cross it and quarterly VAT filing becomes part of the job.
Quick Picks
Lowest published sole trader rate
The Accountancy Partnership
£24.50+VAT /month
Up to £20,000 turnover · Limited companies from £39.50+VAT
See details →
Software, or software plus accountant
Crunch
£27+VAT /month
Sole Trader Pro with an accountant · Software-only Plus at £10+VAT
See details →
Tiered sole trader support
Mazuma
£38+VAT /month
Four published tiers · Up to £60+VAT for Premium
See details →
Fixed annual fee
Cheaper Accountant
£150 /year
Trading companies up to £10,000 turnover · Bands to £500
See details →

What Is an Online Accountant?

An online accountant delivers the same statutory work as a high-street practice – annual accounts, a Self Assessment or Corporation Tax return, VAT filing and payroll – but manages it through cloud software and email or messaging rather than in-person meetings. Most bundle bookkeeping software, automated bank feeds and a fixed monthly fee into a single package, so the cost is known upfront rather than billed by the hour. Crunch and Mazuma both build their pricing around monthly software-plus-service tiers; The Accountancy Partnership and More Than Accountants price the accountancy relationship on its own. A second model exists alongside the monthly retainer: fixed-fee firms like Cheaper Accountant and Taxez charge once a year for a defined filing job, which suits a business that already keeps its own books and only needs the year-end return submitted. Both models are online accountants in the sense that nothing requires a face-to-face meeting.

The distinction that matters more than “online” versus “traditional” is monthly retainer versus annual fixed fee. A retainer buys ongoing access to ask questions through the year; a fixed fee buys one completed filing job and nothing else. Both are online accountants in the sense that matters for this guide – work is done remotely, and the price is published rather than quoted after a meeting.

Online Accountants Compared

These are the published entry prices from the six firms covered in this guide, checked in September 2026. Two publish a full monthly rate card, two price in monthly tiers by service level, and two price annually by turnover band rather than by month. Read the “what it covers” column carefully – a low headline price often narrows once you add VAT, payroll or a second director.

FirmPricing modelEntry priceWhat it covers
CrunchMonthly, software plus accountant£27+VAT/month (Sole Trader Pro) to £185+VAT/month (Premier)Sole trader and limited company plans with an accountant; Crunch Plus at £10+VAT is software only
More Than AccountantsMonthlyFrom £15/month (headline only)No published rate card; real price comes from their quote tool
The Accountancy PartnershipMonthly, banded by turnoverFrom £24.50+VAT/month sole trader; from £39.50+VAT/month limited companyAccounts, tax return and ongoing support
MazumaMonthly, tiered£38 to £60+VAT/month (sole trader)Four sole trader tiers; limited company pricing not published
Cheaper AccountantAnnual, fixed by turnover£150 to £500/year (limited company)Company accounts and Corporation Tax return, banded by turnover
TaxezAnnual, fixed by turnover£199 to £599/year (limited company)Company accounts and Corporation Tax return, banded by turnover
Check whether the price includes VAT

Several of these headline figures do not state whether VAT is included. Crunch and Mazuma quote plus VAT explicitly, and The Accountancy Partnership states that all its prices exclude VAT; More Than Accountants, Cheaper Accountant and Taxez do not say either way on their headline rates. Ask before you sign - the gap is 20% of whatever number you were quoted.

The six firms below are grouped by how they charge: four monthly, two annual. We have not reviewed their service. Each entry sets out what the firm publishes, what it leaves to a quote, and what sits on top of the headline price.

1

The Accountancy Partnership

Monthly retainer with a published rate card

The Accountancy Partnership publishes a full rate card, banded by turnover and business type. Up to £20,000 turnover it charges £24.50 a month for a sole trader or a partnership and £39.50 for a limited company; from £20,001 to £90,000 those become £29.50 and £54.50, and they keep rising band by band from there. All prices exclude VAT, so the monthly cost is a fifth higher unless your business can reclaim VAT. Director Self Assessment is £10 plus VAT a month for up to two directors, then £10 plus VAT for each additional one.

What we like
✓Full rate card published, banded by turnover and business type
✓States plainly that all prices exclude VAT
✓One £10 add-on covers Self Assessment for up to two directors
Watch out for
✗VAT is added on top of every published price
✗The £24.50 entry rate only applies up to £20,000 turnover; above that the rates step up by band
2

Crunch

Accountancy plans built around its own software

Crunch sells two different things, and the prices are easy to mix up. Crunch Plus, at £10 plus VAT a month, is software only: it includes VAT filing but no accountant. The plans with an accountant start at £27 plus VAT for Sole Trader Pro, with Limited Company Pro at £94 and Limited Company Premium at £145, all plus VAT. Premier starts at £185 plus VAT and is agreed with an adviser on a call. Crunch’s main pricing page is now a quote tool; these prices are the ones it publishes on its comparison pages.

What we like
✓Publishes prices for four accountancy plans, from £27 to £185 plus VAT
✓A software-only option at £10 plus VAT for people who want to file themselves
✓Separate sole trader and limited company plans
Watch out for
✗The main pricing page is a quote tool, not a rate card
✗Premier pricing is set on a call with an adviser
3

Mazuma

Four sole trader tiers priced by support level

Mazuma prices its sole trader service in four tiers that move on how much day-to-day support you want, not on turnover: Basic at £38, Standard at £45, Plus at £52 and Premium at £60, all plus VAT. Its limited company, partnership and LLP prices were not shown on its pricing page when we checked, so treat the sole trader tiers as a comparison point rather than Mazuma’s full range.

What we like
✓Four published sole trader tiers, all marked plus VAT
✓Price moves with the support you choose, not with your turnover
Watch out for
✗No published limited company, partnership or LLP prices
✗The entry tier, at £38 plus VAT, sits above the other monthly firms’ sole trader rates
4

More Than Accountants

Fixed monthly fee, priced through a quote tool

More Than Accountants advertises a fixed fee from £15 a month, the lowest headline figure of the six for a service with an accountant. It publishes no package rate card: the real price comes from its online quote tool, and the site does not say whether the £15 includes VAT. Treat it as a starting point for a quote, not a price you can budget against.

What we like
✓Lowest headline figure of the six for a service with an accountant, at £15
✓Fixed monthly fee model rather than hourly billing
Watch out for
✗No published rate card; every real price comes from the quote tool
✗VAT status of the headline figure is not stated
5

Cheaper Accountant

Annual fixed fees banded by turnover

Cheaper Accountant prices limited company accounts and the Corporation Tax return once a year, by turnover: £150 up to £10,000, then £250, £275, £375 and £425, reaching £500 above £250,000. A dormant company costs £99. It also lists Self Assessment returns from £50, VAT returns at £30 each, payroll at £5 a month and a confirmation statement at £85. The site does not say whether these prices include VAT.

What we like
✓Full turnover-band price list published
✓The lowest trading-company fee of the two annual firms, at £150
✓Every add-on is priced on the same page
Watch out for
✗VAT status is not stated on any price
✗Same-day turnaround costs £150 extra
6

Taxez

Annual fixed fees, with the lowest dormant rate

Taxez also prices company accounts annually by turnover, on its own bands: £49 for a dormant company, then £199 under £1,000 turnover, rising through £299, £349, £449 and £499 to £599 above £250,000. Its bands break at £45,000 and £90,000, the VAT registration threshold. Self Assessment starts at £59, VAT returns cost £29 each, payroll £5 per payslip and a confirmation statement £39. VAT status is not stated.

What we like
✓Lowest dormant company fee of the six, at £49
✓Confirmation statement at £39, below Cheaper Accountant’s £85
✓Turnover bands break at the £90,000 VAT threshold
Watch out for
✗Trading companies start at £199, above Cheaper Accountant’s £150
✗VAT status is not stated on any price

Online vs Local Accountant: Which Should You Choose?

The practical difference between an online accountant and a local, in-person firm is not really about location – most local firms now also work over email and portal uploads. It is about pricing structure and access. Online accountants publish fixed monthly or annual fees upfront, so you know the cost before you sign anything, and the published prices in this guide range from £24.50 a month to £599 a year. Local firms more commonly price by scope after an initial consultation, which can suit a business with unusual circumstances – multiple income streams, a recent inheritance, or a complex group structure – where a fixed online package genuinely does not fit. For a straightforward sole trader or single-director limited company with routine bookkeeping, the fixed online price is usually cheaper and faster to arrange, because you are not paying for a bespoke scoping conversation you do not need.

Face-to-face contact is the other trade-off. An online accountant answers through email, chat or a portal, which suits business owners who want a fast written answer rather than a meeting. A local accountant can sit across a desk with your paperwork spread out, which some directors still prefer for year-end planning or a difficult HMRC query. Neither model is objectively better – it is a question of whether you value a lower, published price or an in-person relationship enough to pay for it separately.

Some businesses run a blended approach rather than choosing one model outright: an online accountant handles the recurring monthly filing at a fixed price, while a local specialist is brought in occasionally for a one-off job such as a complex capital gains position or a company restructure. That mix costs more than either option on its own, but it keeps the predictable, published price for the work you do every year and reserves bespoke advice for the year you actually need it.

What’s Included, and What Costs Extra

Every headline price above covers the core filing job: accounts and a tax return, or a Corporation Tax return for a limited company. The following are typically billed on top, and they are where a cheap-looking package converges with a mid-priced one:

  • VAT returns – £29 per return at Taxez, £30 at Cheaper Accountant. Filed quarterly, that is £116 to £120 a year once your turnover crosses the £90,000 VAT registration threshold.
  • Payroll – around £5 per payslip at Taxez or £5 a month at Cheaper Accountant. Our guide to payroll software costs compares the alternative of running it yourself.
  • Confirmation statement – £39 at Taxez, £85 at Cheaper Accountant, plus the separate Companies House filing fee.
  • Director Self Assessment – £10 plus VAT a month covers up to two directors at The Accountancy Partnership, then £10 plus VAT for each additional director, on top of the company’s own accounts fee.
  • Same-day turnaround – Cheaper Accountant charges £150 extra for expedited filing.

Add two or three of these together and a headline £150 annual fee or £24.50 monthly retainer stops being the whole story. A one-person limited company with quarterly VAT returns and a single payslip a month, for example, adds roughly £116 to £120 a year in VAT filing plus around £60 a year in payroll on top of whichever base fee it started from. None of that makes the headline price dishonest – it is simply the floor, not the ceiling, and worth asking about upfront rather than discovering on the first invoice. Bookkeeping is the line item most often misjudged here, so it is worth being clear on what a bookkeeper covers and where an accountant takes over.

Sole Trader or Limited Company: What You’ll Pay

Legal structure changes both your accountant’s fee and your tax bill. A sole trader files one return – Self Assessment – and pays the entry-level rate at most online firms: £24.50 plus VAT a month at The Accountancy Partnership, £38 plus VAT at Mazuma’s Basic tier. A limited company needs annual accounts, a Corporation Tax return and a confirmation statement, which is why The Accountancy Partnership’s limited company rate starts at £39.50 a month, £15 more than its sole trader price at the lowest turnover band and £25 more from £20,001 to £90,000. Corporation Tax itself sits outside the accountant’s fee: the small profits rate is 19% on profits of £50,000 or less, the main rate is 25% on profits above £250,000, and Marginal Relief gives an effective rate in between. Both thresholds reduce proportionately for short accounting periods and where a company has associated companies.

Sole traders and limited company directors also work to the same Self Assessment calendar where a personal return is due. The 2025-26 tax year ran from 6 April 2025 to 5 April 2026, with the online filing and payment deadline falling at 11:59pm on 31 January 2027, and a second payment on account due by 31 July where HMRC requires it. A director usually needs a personal Self Assessment on top of the company’s accounts, which is why several online accountants price it as a separate monthly add-on rather than folding it into the company fee.

Partnerships sit closer to sole traders than to limited companies on price, at least where a firm publishes a rate for them: The Accountancy Partnership quotes £24.50 a month for a partnership, the same entry rate as a sole trader, because the filing burden is similar until the partnership itself needs a separate set of accounts. Contractors billing through a personal service company sit in a category of their own, covered in our guide to accountants for contractors.

How to Choose an Online Accountant

Price is the easiest thing to compare and often the least useful one on its own, since a low headline rate can hide add-ons that close the gap within a single VAT quarter. These five questions narrow the six firms above down to the two or three worth an actual quote call. The same filter applied to local firms is set out in our guide to choosing a small business accountant.

  • Monthly retainer or annual fixed fee? – a retainer suits a business that wants year-round access; a fixed fee suits one that only needs the filing done.
  • Does the quoted price include VAT? – ask directly, since several firms above do not state it on their headline figure.
  • Who handles payroll? – if you already run payroll in-house, our guides to payroll software costs, payroll bureau versus software and how to do payroll cover that side separately, since accountants price it differently to a dedicated payroll provider.
  • What happens after year one? – introductory rates are common on monthly packages; ask what the renewal price will be before you sign.
  • Is cash flow or fee level the real problem? – if you are chasing overdue invoices rather than struggling with the accountant’s bill, invoice finance and a business line of credit solve a different question than switching accountant does. And if late, disorganised receipts are driving up your bookkeeping fee, spend management tools reduce the clean-up work that pushes a quote higher.

FREE QUOTE COMPARISON

Compare Accounting Services Quotes from Trusted Suppliers

100% free • No obligation • Takes under 2 minutes

Clara Wenslow

Clara Wenslow

Finance & Business Services Editor

Clara analyses SME finance and procurement markets, covering business loans, invoice finance, payroll, and related B2B services. She ensures each comparison and guide is transparent and data-driven.

Sarah Mitchell

Reviewed by

Sarah Mitchell

B2B Commerce & Finance Reviewer

FAQs

Crunch Plus is the cheapest published price at £10 plus VAT a month, but it is software only, with no accountant. For a monthly service with an accountant, The Accountancy Partnership starts at £24.50 plus VAT a month for sole traders, and Crunch’s Sole Trader Pro at £27 plus VAT.

Online accountants publish fixed monthly or annual fees upfront, from £24.50 a month to £599 a year across the firms compared here, so you know the cost before you sign. Local firms more often price by scope after a consultation, which can land higher or lower depending on how complex your affairs are.

At The Accountancy Partnership, a limited company costs £39.50 a month against £24.50 for a sole trader up to £20,000 turnover, a difference of £15 a month that widens to £25 from £20,001 to £90,000. That gap reflects the annual accounts, Corporation Tax return and confirmation statement a company must file.

Usually not. VAT returns typically cost £29 to £30 per return on top of the headline fee, and payroll runs around £5 per payslip or £5 a month. Both are charged separately from the base package at most firms.

You must register once your taxable turnover for the last 12 months goes over £90,000. Crossing that threshold adds quarterly VAT filing to your accountant’s workload, and to your bill.

Free Accounting Services Quotes Compare top UK suppliers